The Weather Station Announce New Album

THE WEATHER STATION ANNOUNCES SELF-TITLED ALBUM,
OUT OCTOBER 6TH ON OUTSIDE MUSIC, AND FALL TOUR
 
LISTEN TO LEAD SINGLE, “THIRTY” HERE 

 

album_cover_hires_RGB

 

 

The Weather Station, Toronto’s Tamara Lindeman, will release her self-titled and fourth album on October 6th via Outside Music in Canada, elsewhere on Paradise of Bachelors, and will tour North America this fall. Today, she presents the album’s lead single, “Thirty,” “a song about joy at the precipice of despair.”
 
The Weather Station has been acclaimed for her “measured, perceptive storytelling… an unmistakable and communicative voice, able to convey hope and hurt with equal clarity” (Pitchfork). With The Weather StationLindeman reinvents her songcraft with a vital new energy, framing her prose-poem narratives in bolder musical settings. It’s an emotionally candid statement – a work of urgency, generosity and joy – that feels like a collection of obliquely gut-punching short stories.
 
“I wanted to make a rock and roll record,” Lindeman explains, “but one that sounded how I wanted it to sound, which of course is nothing like rock and roll.” The result declares its understated feminist politics and new sonic directions from its first moments. There are big, buzzing guitars, thrusting drums, horror-movie strings and her keening, Appalachian-tinged vocal melodies. Reaching towards a sort of accelerated talking blues, she sings with a new rapid-fire vocal style.
 
After two records made in close collaboration with other musicians, including Loyalty, which FADER called “the best folk album of the year,” and Exclaim!echoed with a stellar 9/10,  Lindeman self- produced for the first time since her debut. The band comprised touring bassist Ben Whiteley, drummer Don Kerr, and guests, including Ryan Driver (Jennifer Castle), Ben Boye (Ty Segall, Ryley Walker), and Will Kidman (The Constantines). But the heaviest thumbprint on the record belongs to Lindeman; she wrote the dense, often dissonant string arrangements and played most of the wending, tumbling guitar lines.
 
The Weather Station’s North American tour is on sale July 21st at 9am local time. Tickets are available at http://www.theweatherstation.net/tour/
 
Listen to The Weather Station’s “Thirty” HERE 
 
The Weather Station Tracklist:
1. Free
2. Thirty
3. You And I (on the Other Side of the World)
4. Kept It All to Myself
5. Impossible
6. Power
7. Complicit
8. Black Flies
9. I Don’t Know What to Say
10. In an Hour
11. The Most Dangerous Thing About You
 
The Weather Station Tour Dates:
Sun. July 23 – Field, ON @ River and Sky Festival
Wed. July 26 – Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool w/ Marlon Williams, Julia Jacklin & Joshua Hedley
Fri. Aug 18 – Grand Manan, NB @ Summer’s End Folk Festival
Fri. Oct 20 – Gent, BE @ Trefpunt
Sat. Oct 21 – Utrecht, NE @ Ramblin’ Roots Festival
Mon. Oct 23 – London, UK @ The Lexington
Tue. Oct 24 – Manchester, UK @ Eagle Inn
Thu. Oct 26 – Amsterdam, NE @ Tolhuistuin
Fri. Oct 27 – Paris, FR @ Pop Up Du Label
Sun. Oct 29 – Berlin, DE @ Monarch
Wed. Nov. 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg
Thu. Nov. 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Café Du Nord
Sun. Nov. 5 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Mon. Nov. 6 – Seattle, WA @ Sunset
Wed. Nov. 8 – Vancouver, BC @ Fox Theatre
Fri. Nov. 24 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall
Tue. Nov. 28 – New York, NY @ Rough Trade
Wed. Nov. 29 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Sat. Dec. 2 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout
Wed. Dec. 6 – Montreal, QC @ Divan Orange